Council Members

The affairs of the Society are governed by an elected Council. Officers and members for 2017/18 are shown below.  Contact details can be found below these images. Due to increasing spam attempts we do not display email addresses.  However, you can easily contact any Council member by filling out the contact form here and marking your message for the attention of the person you wish to contact.


Professor Matthew Kearnes

School of Humanities and Languages, University of New South Wales. 


Associate Professor Rae Dufty-Jones

Senior Lecturer in Geography and Urban Studies, School of Social Sciences, Western Sydney University

(02) 9685 9393


Dr Stephen Codrington

Director of School Governance and Leadership Development, and Senior Lecturer in the Faculty of Education, Arts and Social Sciences, Alphacrucis College, Parramatta, Sydney

0400 554 909


Dr Garth Lean

Senior Lecturer in Tourism and Heritage Studies, School of Social Sciences, Western Sydney University

(02) 4736 0350


Dr Caitlin Buckle

School of Architecture, University of Sydney


Dr Andrew Burridge

Lecturer in Human Geography, Department of Geography and Planning, Macquarie University.


Jesse Doolan

Policy Advisor - NSW farmers


Dr Laura Hammersley

School of Geography and Sustainable Communities, University of Wollongong



Dr Paul Hodge

School of Environmental and Life Sciences (Geography and Environmental Studies), University of Newcastle


Dr Rhonda Itaoui

Centre for Social Justice and Inclusion, University Technology Sydney


Dr Davina Jackson

Honorary Academic, University of Kent (Architecture)


Dr Nicolette Larder

Lecturer - Faculty of Humanities, Arts, Social Sciences and Education; School of Humanities, Arts, and Social Sciences


Associate Professor Corrinne Sullivan

Geography and Urban Studies, School of Social Sciences, Western Sydney University


Dr Sophie Webber

Lecturer in Human Geography, School of Geosciences, University of Sydney

(02) 8627 5972

Postgraduate Representative

Taylor Coyne

PhD Candidate, Environment and Society, University of New South Wales, Sydney. 

Co-opted Member to Council

Associate Professor Kathleen Mee

Editor of the Australian Geographer

School of Environmental and Earth Sciences, University of Newcastle

Co-opted member to Council

Dr Susan Caldis

GTANSW Representative

Lecturer, Macquarie School of Education


Co-opted Member to Council

Dr Alanna Kamp

Geographical Names Board Representative

Lecturer in Geography and Urban Studies, School of Social Sciences, Western Sydney University

Co-opted Member to Council

Heather Rushton

Study Tours Convenor


Dr Bronwyn Bate

Senior Program Officer, Social Housing & Homelessness Strategy, Housing Homelessness and Disability, Department of Communities and Justice


Executive Officer

Madeleine Miller

PhD candidate, casual academic, discipline of Environmental Humanities at the University of New South Wales